'Respeto' and 'Balangiga' Top List of Gawad Urian 2018 Nominees

The full list of nominees includes some of the best Filipino indies in recent memory.
IMAGE Dogzilla; Kamias Overground

One of the most prestigious award-giving bodies in Filipino cinema has just released its list of nominees for 2018. Now on their 41st year, the Gawad Urian Awards are critics' awards held and given by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino.

Last year, the 40th Gawad Urian Award for Best Picture went to Sheron Dayoc's Women of The Weeping River (which swept up six awards that night, including Best Director for Dayoc); while Best Actor went to Paolo Ballesteros in Die Beautiful and Best Actress went to Hasmin Kasilip in Pamilya Ordinaryo.

This year's list of nominees is packed with many of the local festival circuit's recent darlings. Treb Monteras' Respeto has a total of twelve nominations, while Khavn de la Cruz's Balangiga: Howling Wilderness has ten, followed by Arnel Barbarona's Tu Pug Imatuy and James Mayo's The Chanters. In fact, the list is dominated by quality indie films—so take that, Senate President.

Seeing the entire list helps to recount the sheer variety that we've been enjoying in this resurgence of Filipino cinema:


Best Film
Balangiga: Howling Wilderness, Archinette Villamor, Edong Canlas, Khavn de la Cruz, producers
Birdshot, Pamela L. Reyes, producer
Bhoy Intsik, Ferdinand Lapuz, producer
The Chanters, Cai Cena, Ferdinand Lapuz, Thop Nazareno, producers
Respeto, Monster Jimenez, producer
Tu Pug Imatuy, Norhaiya Diabo Macusang, Jillian Kayle, Arnel Mardoquio, Milo Tolentino, Arnel Barbarona, producers

Best Director
Arnel Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy
Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo, Kita Kita
Khavn de la Cruz, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Joel Lamangan, Bhoy Intsik
James Robin M. Mayo, The Chanters
Treb Monteras II, Respeto
Mikhail Red, Birdshot

Best Actress
Joanna Ampil, Ang Larawan
Angeli Bayani, Bagahe
Alessandra de Rossi, Kita Kita
Gloria Diaz, Si Chedeng at Si Apple
Dexter Doria, Paki
Jally Nae Gilbaliga, The Chanters
Agot Isidro, Changing Partners
Elizabeth Oropesa, Si Chedeng at Si Apple
Bela Padilla, 100 Tula Para Kay Stella
Angellie Nicholle Sanoy, Bomba
Malona Sulatan, Tu Pug Imatuy


Best Actor
Abra, Respeto
Nonie Buencamino, Smaller and Smaller Circles
Timothy Castillo, Neomanila
Noel Comia Jr, Kiko Boksingero
Allen Dizon, Bomba
RS Francisco, Bhoy Intsik
Jojit Lorenzo, Changing Partners
Empoy Marquez, Kita Kita
Sandino Martin, Changing Partners
Justine Samson, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Best Supporting Actress
Yayo Aguila, Kiko Boksingero
Angeli Bayani, Maestra
Shamaine Buencamino, Paki
Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Siargao
Chai Fonacier, Respeto
Nathalie Hart, Historiographika Errata
Odette Khan, Bar Boys
Menchu Lauchengco-Yulo, Ang Larawan
Gloria Sevilla, Maestra

Best Supporting Actor
John Arcilla, Birdshot
Robert Arevalo, Ang Larawan
Romulo Caballero, The Chanters
Dido de la Paz, Respeto
Pio del Rio, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Nor Domingo, Respeto
Ronwaldo Martin, Bhoy Intsik
Jess Mendoza, Sa Gabing Nanahimik ang mga Kuliglig
Arnold Reyes, Birdshot

Best Screenplay
Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo, Kita Kita
Ronald C. Carballo, Bhoy Intsik
Njel de Mesa, Alberto Monteras II, Respeto
Christopher Gozum, Dapol Tan Payawar Na Tayug 1931
Jerry Gracio, Khavn de la Cruz, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Andrian Legaspi, John Bedia, The Chanters
Arnel Mardoquio, Tu Pug Imatuy
Kip Oebanda, Bar Boys

Best Cinematography
Ike Avellana, Respeto
Albert Banzon, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Mycko David, Birdshot
Mycko David, Neomanila
Bryan Jimenez, Arbi Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy
TM Malones, Baconaua
JA Tadena, Smaller and Smaller Circles

Best Production Design
Bagwani Ampalayo, Tu Pug Imatuy
Popo Diaz, Respeto
Gino Gonzales, Ang Larawan
Marielle Hizon, Baconaua
Ericson Navarro, Smaller and Smaller Circles
Daniel Red, Neomanila
Thesa Tang, Kita Kita
Marija Vicente, Timmy Harn, Zeus Bascon, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Best Editing
Lawrence Ang, Respeto
Arnel Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy
Lawrence Fajardo, Ang Larawan
Jay Halili, Smaller and Smaller Circles
Marya Ignacio, Kita Kita
Marya Ignacio, Changing Partners
Carlo Francisco Manatad, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
John Anthony Wong, Bhoy Intsik

Best Music
Arnel Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy
Ryan Cayabyab, Ang Larawan
Vincent de Jesus, Changing Partners
Jay Durias, Respeto
Erwin Fajardo, The Chanters
Khavn de la Cruz, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Lutgardo Labad and Odoni Pestelos, Smaller and Smaller Circles

Recommended Videos

Best Sound
KC Caballero, Ang Larawan
Aian Caro, Birdshot
Corrine de San Jose, Respeto
Stephen Lopez, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Mikko Quizon, Changing Partners
Jeff Sabayle, Tu Pug Imatuy
Immanuel Verona, The Chanters

Best Documentary
Jose S. Buenconsejo, Seven Dances of Life
JL Burgos, Han-Ayan
Sari Dalena and Keith Sicat, History of the Underground
Ramona Diaz, Motherland
Phyllis Grande, Haunted: A Last Visit to the Red House
Nawruz Paguidopon, God BLISS Our Home
Dempster Samarista, Bundok Banahaw, Sacred and Profane
Victor Delotavo Tagaro and Toshihiko Uriu, Yield

Best Short Film
Glenn Barit, Aliens Ata
Christian Candelaria, Sa Saiyang Isla
Carl Adrian Chavez, Sorry for the Inconvenience
Kiri Dalena, Gikan Sa Ngitngit Nga Kinailadman (From the Dark Depths)
Keith Deligero, Babylon
Kyle Fermindoza, Manggagarab
Dennis Hubag, Empyreus
TM Malones, Bawod
Carlo Francisco Manatad, Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of the Month
Roanna Mercado, Piko
Maje Papin and Ef Orpiada Jr, Lutab
Joseph Vincent "Xeph" Suarez, Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah (Astri And Tambulah)
Edmund Telmo, Redempsyon
Kim Timan, Caramel Child

Natatanging Gawad Urian: Winston Raval


Go ahead and place your bets and watch out for the awards night on Thursday, June 14, at the ABS-CBN Vertis Tent.

View More Articles About:
More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Esquire Philippines
View Other Articles From Esquire
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us