'Pan de Salawal', 'Dapithapon', and 'Liway' Lead 2018 Cinemalaya Award Winners

A new crop of great local films steps up to the podium.
IMAGE fb.com/LiwayCinemalaya; fb.com/DapithaponFilm; fb.com/MLFilm2018

This year's Cinemalaya ended its two-week run last night, August 12, with an awarding ceremony at the Cultural Center of the Philippines for the festival's competing films.

Carlo Enciso Catu's Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon bagged Best Feature Film, Pan de Salawal's Che Espiritu bagged Best Director, Kip Oebanda's Liway bagged Audience Choice, and Eddie Garcia took home his third Cinemalaya Best Actor Award. According to Cinemalaya Festival Director Chris Millado, this year's festival achieved a 25 percent increase in attendance, with Liway and ML leading the pack in terms of sales.

This year's winners follow in the footsteps of films like Respeto (Best Feature Film and Audience Choice, Cinemalaya 2017) and Pamilya Ordinaryo (Best Feature Film and Best Director, Cinemalaya 2016). See who's up next:


Best Film: Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon by Carlo Enciso Catu

Best Director: Che Espiritu for Pan de Salawal

Special Jury Award: Pan de Salawal by Che Espiritu

Special Jury Commendation for Film: Liway by Kip Oebanda

Netpac Jury Award: Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon by Carlo Enciso Catu

Best Screenplay: John Carlo Pacala for Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon

Best Cinematography: Neil Daza for Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon

Best Editing: Mikael Pestano for ML

Best Production Design: Mariel Hizon for Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon

Best Original Music Score: Len Calvo for Pan de Salawal

Best Sound: Wildsound for Musmos na Sumibol sa Gubat ng Digma

Audience Choice: Liway by Kip Oebanda

Special Jury Award For Acting: Kenken Nuyad for Liway and School Service; Miel Espinosa for Pan de Salawal; JM Salvado for Musmos na Sumibol sa Gubat ng Digma.


Best Actress: Ai-Ai Delas Alas for School Service

Best Actor: Eddie Garcia for ML

Best Supporting Actress: Therese Malvar for School Service and Distance

Best Supporting Actor: Ketchup Eusebio for Mamang



Best Film: Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of The Month by Carlo Francisco Manatad

Best Director: Xeph Suarez for Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah

Special Jury Award: Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah by Xeph Suarez

Netpac Jury Award: Sa Saiyang Isla by Christian Candelaria

Best Screenplay: Sa Saiyang Isla by Christian Candelaria

Audience Choice Award: Kiko by Jojo Driz

Recommended Videos
View More Articles About:
More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Esquire Philippines
View Other Articles From Esquire
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us