Reese Lansangan and Tarsius Add Tracks to Eraserheads Tribute Album Pop Machine

Watch out for more new artists covering Eheads songs until the full album in 2020.
IMAGE Felix Taaka

Filipino indie darlings Reese Lansangan and Tarsius have added tracks to the compilation album Pop Machine, which features interpretations of classic Eraserheads songs. Both songs dropped on Friday, December 6. 

Lansangan offered up a soft, dreamy cover of “Huwag Kang Matakot,” which was previously covered by Orange and Lemons for Ultraelectromagneticjam, the first Eraserheads tribute album released in 2005.

In social media posts, Lansangan said she imagined a mother singing the song to her her child, “giving comfort and courage. This is how I interpret the message.”

Tarsius, composed of Diego Mapa and Jay Gapasin, meanwhile put its own spin on Maskara, which originally came out in the 2001 album Carbonstereoxide. The duo chose to take the song apart and transpose it to a snappy, killer beat. The vocals don’t come in until a minute and a half into the song, and it’s Mapa’s trademark loose, wispy ramblings.

Pop Machine already has tracks from Munimuni (“Minsan”), Leanne and Naara (“Alapaap”), Oh Flamingo! (“Julie Tearjerky”), and Ciudad (“Tindahan ni Aling Nena”).

Six more artists are expected to drop their covers of Eheads song until the full album drops sometime in 2020.

Listen to the tracks here:

View More Articles About:
More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Paul John Caña
Associate Editor, Esquire Philippines
View Other Articles From PJ
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us