Tech

How to Read Your Facebook Messages Without Being Seen

Or how to be an FB ninja
Comments

Admit it, sometimes you wish that you could disable the "seen" feature on Facebook Messenger. There are instances where you want to just read a message and not reply, and that's completely normal. But unfortunately, FB sends receipts. It can be such a drag, especially when you're caught off guard and don't know how to respond.

Unfortunately, as of now, there's still no way to turn off that "seen" feature, but there are some tricks that'll help you out.

1| Read messages through notifications

If your Messenger notifications are turned off, turn it on first. When your phone's locked and you receive a message, you can now read it as notifications. Don't open the message as it will transfer you to the Messenger app. The catch is that you won't be able to read long messages as the text on the notification is limited to a number of characters (which is different for iOS and Android), but at least you get a preview. 

2| Switch to airplane mode

Another way to stealthily read messages is by switching your phone to airplane mode. Once it's on, you're in the clear and can read messages that have been sent to you. Before turning it off, don't forget to log out of Messenger. Here's how:

To log out of Facebook Messenger on your Android device

First, close the app, and get rid of it from your recent apps list, otherwise this trick won't work.

In SETTINGS, scroll down to the APPS or APPLICATION MANAGER, and scroll down until you see MESSENGER.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

Tap on this, and CLEAR DATA.

To log out of Facebook Messenger on your iPhone

Launch the Facebook Messenger app.

Tap the icon for SETTING, and then tap TERMS OF SERVICE.

Scroll down to DATA USE POLICY. Tap that blue hyperlink.

Tap the menu bar on the top left corner.

Tap MORE RESOURCES.

Tap DEVELOPER PAYMENT TERMS.

Tap your PROFILE PICTURE at the top right corner to reveal a drop down menu.

Tap LOG OUT.

3| Use a Google Chrome extension

A Chrome extension called Unseen blocks the "seen" notification, and shows only the "delivered" receipts. Simply install the extension and forget about it, and it'll stop you from having to explain why you didn't reply.

Click this link to install it.

This story originally appeared on FHM.com.ph.

* Minor edits have been made by the Esquiremag.ph editors.

CONTINUE READING BELOW
Recommended Videos
Comments
View More Articles About:
More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Khatrina Bonagua for FHM.com.ph
View Other Articles From Khatrina Bonagua for FHM.com.ph
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us