Tech

Soon You’ll Have A Whole Hour To Delete Those WhatsApp Messages You Instantly Regretted

It comes with a catch, though.
IMAGE Getty Images
Comments

WhatsApp will soon be giving you over an hour to delete those messages you instantly regret. And yes, that extends to photos and videos. No judgement. 

WhatsApp has been letting users “un-send” messages since October. For the uninitiated the "delete for everyone” option let’s you claw back a message up to seven minutes after sending it, all you have to do is hold down the offending message until the bin icon appears.  

But as WABetaInfo reports, the next WhatsApp update will give users more time—4,096 seconds—which works out at a rather precise 68 minutes and 16 seconds to delete messages. 

However having said that, you’ll need to hit delete before the other person sees it. Easier said than done. 

That, and you will both receive a glaring timestamped notification stating that a message has been deleted, which might lead to some awkward questions the morning after.

This story originally appeared on Esquire.co.uk. Minor edits have been made by the Esquiremag.ph editors.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW
Comments
View More Articles About:
About The Author
Esquire UK Editors
View Other Articles From Esquire UK
Comments
Connect With Us