Hidilyn Diaz Is Honored With the Esteemed Presidential Medal of Merit

Nesthy Petecio, Carlo Paalam, and Eumir Marcial were also conferred to the Order of Lapu-Lapu.

Filipino Olympic gold medalist Hidilyn Diaz, silver medalists Nesthy Petecio and Carlo Paalam, and bronze medalist Eumir Marcial were honored by President Rodrigo Duterte at Malacanang Palace’s incentives awarding ceremony today, August 23. 

The four Olympians were awarded their respective monetary incentives from the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) and the Office of the President. They were also conferred to the esteemed Order of Lapu-Lapu with the rank of Kamagi for their extraordinary representation and service to the Philippines at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. 


For her historic gold win at the Olympics, Diaz was also awarded the Presidential Medal of Merit, a rare and exceptional recognition. Her Olympic victory fulfilled one of the requirements of the presidential medal: “for gaining prestige for the country in an international event, in the fields of literature, the sciences, the arts, entertainment, and other civilian fields of endeavor that foster national pride and artistic excellence.”

The last time a Filipino was awarded with the coveted medal was in 2016. 

Aside from her Presidential Medal of Merit, Diaz received P10 million in incentives from the PSC and P3 million from Duterte. Meanwhile, silver medalists Petecio and Paalam each received P5 million from the PSC and P2 million from Duterte, and bronze medalist Marcial received P2 million from PSC and P1 million from Duterte. 

Recommended Videos

Discover the best of culture, business, and style from Esquire Philippines. Visit Quento for more stories and subscribe to our YouTube channel for new videos. 

View More Articles About:
More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Anri Ichimura
Section Editor, Esquire Philippines
View Other Articles From Anri
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us