We Will All Perish Because of Poor Comprehension

Many people don't know where Metro Manila is.

When President Rodrigo Duterte ordered the suspension of all classes in Metro Manila, confused residents of Metro Manila began asking whether their cities were included in the class suspensions. Consider the following:



The following photos from the comments section of the post are questions of confused residents of Metro Manila.



For some residents who have been presumably living in the National Capital Region for years, the boundaries of Metro Manila are not well defined. This gave rise to an argument on whether Quezon City was part of Metro Manila or CALABARZON.

Recommended Videos

The issue has become a highly charged topic that some pages on Facebook decided to educate the public on Grade 4 Geography.


Apparently, many people confused Manila and Metro Manila. Manila is a city and the capital of the Philippines. Metro Manila is not the capital of the Philippines, but a region composed of 16 cities (including the capital city of Manila) and the municipality of Pateros.

Metro Manila Lockdown

According to the government, there will be a month-long emergency measure implemented in which people will be prevented from entering or leaving Metro Manila, which is the same definition of a lockdown, which government prefers to call community quarantine. The lockdown will begin on March 15 and end on April 15. 

But it's not as simple as it sounds. For starters, millions of people from Metro Manila's peripheries—Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna, Cavite—commute to Metro Manila every day to go to work. It led many people to ask, are Antipolo, Taytay, Meycauayan, and others, part of the lockdown? The absence of border markers on the ground and the fluidity and seamless travel between Metro Manila and these places add to the confusion. 


According to the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), certain people will still be allowed entry into Metro Manila.

It is not clear how the government plans to implement the lockdown at checkpoints, especially when buses ferrying passengers from the peripheries attempt to enter Metro Manila. A single bus has a capacity of at least 65 passengers. 

Further, patients undergoing treatment will also be allowed to enter Metro Manila, according to DILG Secretary Eduardo Año

The government will also allow the entry and exit of goods into the NCR, so there should be nothing to worry about running out of supplies in the region. 

Metro Manila has a population of 12.8 million and is composed of the cities of Manila, Quezon City, Caloocan, Las Piñas, Makati, Malabon, Mandaluyong, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Parañaque, Pasay, Pasig, San Juan, Taguig, and Valenzuela, and the  municipality of Pateros. 

More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Mario Alvaro Limos
Features Editor
View Other Articles From Mario
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us