Toyota Vios Cup Back on Track After Completing Leg 1 of the 2022 Tourney

The next legs will be in August and October.

The 2022 Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) Vios Cup is back, folks. This time, Toyota Motor Philippines (TMP) brought fans back to the grandstands of Clark International Speedway in Pampanga for the first of three legs of the tournament on Saturday, July 2.

For this edition's Circuit Championship, a total of 27 racers went on the racetracks, participating in three categories. These were the Promotional, Super Sporting, and Sporting Classes. The cup also had the likes of veteran celebrity racers like Troy Montero, Daniel Matsunaga, and Fabio back on the road with their One Make Race Toyota Vios models for the Circuit Championship.

The Autocross Challenge, on the other hand, hosted influencers and members of the media as a means of providing an inclusive and accessible racing platform for fans. This special cup included beginner and advanced competitions, as well.


These Are the Most and Least-Loved Car Brands in the Philippines and the World

These Are the New Cars People are Most Excited to See in 2022

“The TGR Vios Cup is our way of celebrating our ever-growing racing community. We are thankful to our races and racing teams for showing the Gazoo Racing spirit, especially in this challenging times," TMP President Atsuhiro Okamoto said. “We hope this year’s season will continue to give the drive to race your ambition.”

Photo by Toyota Motor Philippines.
Photo by Toyota Motor Philippines.
Photo by Toyota Motor Philippines.
Photo by Toyota Motor Philippines.
Recommended Videos
Photo by Toyota Motor Philippines.
Photo by Toyota Motor Philippines.

The Circuit Championship Promotional Class, which pits up-and-coming racers against each other, saw Alain Alzona of Alzona Racing Team – Toyota Team General Santos, Alan Palacios of Toyota Team Cebu, and Ian Rosales of Toyota Team Cebu came out on top.


Under the Super Sporting Class, John Dizon of Obengers Team, Inigo Anton of Toyota North Edsa-Obengers Team, and Darryl de Leon of Toyota Marilao Obengers Team placed first, second, and third, respectively.

Troy Montero of Toyota Gazoo Racing PH, meanwhile, outraced fellow participants Royce Sarmiento of RMS Cars Racing Team and Joaquin Garrido of Toyota Otis – Obengers Racing Team in the Sporting Class round.

As for the Autocross Challenge Promotional Class, Pablo Salapantan of YugaAuto took home first place honors for the media while influencer Benedict Cua won in the influencers contest. The Sporting Class was led by Jamil Lacuna of and Gino Quillamor of Boys Night Out.

The National Finals of the Toyota Gazoo Racing Gran Turismo Cup were held during the cup, too. It was Christopher Tejada who edged out Matthew Ang and Chino Ascense in the Promotional Class while Estefano Rivera beat out Russel Reyes and Jether Miole for the Sporting Class championship.

Legs 2 and 3 of the TGR Vios Cup will take place in August and November. The second leg will be held at the Clark International Speedway, as well.

Visit the official Toyota Motor Philippines website to learn more. 

Discover the best of culture, business, and style from Esquire Philippines. Visit Quento for more stories and subscribe to our YouTube channel for new videos. 

View More Articles About:
More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Bryle B. Suralta
Assistant Section Editor
Bryle B. Suralta is the assistant section editor of Esquire Philippines.
View Other Articles From Bryle
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us