Duterte Signs Law Renaming Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro

The newly signed law is still subject to ratification through a plebiscite.

Once a part of Davao del Norte before being recognized as Compostela Valley, the province is once again subject to changing its name. Revealed to the media on May 23, President Rodrigo Duterte has signed into law a measure to rename Compostela Valley into Davao de Oro, setting a uniform "Davao" name for all the provinces in Region 11.

Republic Act No. 11297 is still subject to a plebiscite, so residents of Compostela Valley will have to vote and weigh in on the matter before the law is ratified. Before the name change, the province is the only one in the region that doesn't bear the name "Davao" among Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao Occidental, and Davao del Sur.

The Sto. Niño Cave is one of the province's most-visited tourist spots. IMAGE: Compostela Valley Government Website
It's also home to a number of waterfalls, like the Malumagpak Falls. IMAGE: Compostela Valley Government Website

The bill originated from the House of Representatives, sponsored by representatives Maria Carmen Zamora, Pedro Acharon Jr., and Ruwell Peter Gonzaga, and amended by senators Juan Miguel Zubiri and Sonny Angara.

According to Republic Act No. 11279, the Commission on Elections—which is still under fire over issues that arose during the mid-term elections on May 13— shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite.

This story originally appeared on Spot.ph.

* Minor edits have been made by the Esquiremag.ph editors.

View More Articles About:
More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Kevyn Tapnio for Spot.ph
View Other Articles From Kevyn
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us