Lopez Scion Is Man of the Year 2020

IMAGE MAP website

Federico “Piki” Lopez has been chosen Man of the Year 2020 by the Management Association of the Philippines.


Oscar and Gabby Lopez Resign from Lopez Holdings Corp.

Lopez Scion Fires Back at Newspaper Columnist for “Irresponsible Journalism”

Lopez is the chairman and CEO of First Philippine Holdings Inc. (FPH), a Lopez-controlled holding company with interests in energy, real estate, manufacturing, construction, healthcare, and education. He was also recently elected chairman of Lopez Holdings Corp, the family’s holding company for investments in major development sectors, after the resignation of his father, Oscar M. Lopez, and his cousin Eugenio “Gabby” Lopez III for “personal reasons.”

The 59-year-old Federico Lopez, who is known to close associates and friends as “Piki,” earned his BA (cum laude) from the University of Pennsylvania with a double major in Economics and International Relations. He has also served as a director of FPH since 2006 as well as vice-chairman of Rockwell Land Corporation, treasurer of Lopez Holdings, and a director of ABS-CBN.

According to the MAP, Lopez was chosen “for passionately pushing for the country’s transition to a low-carbon economy through his various advocacies to proactively address the irreparable damage of climate change.” 

Among other reasons the MAP cited for naming Lopez are for “championing the power industry’s deregulation for the benefit of the country,” for steering the Lopez Group to being in the forefront of energy, security, and sustainablity, and clean technologies for renewable energy and natural gas,” “for his leadership role in the substantial contributions of the Lopez Group to national development in terms of production, value added, income generation and job creation,” and “for setting an example for Filipino managers through a track record of integrity, entrepreneurial excellence, professional competence and great leadership in his management career.” 


The MAP’s Man of the Year award “bestows on individuals in the business community or government for attaining unquestioned distinction in the practice of management and for contributing to the country’s progress."

The group's criteria for the award include "integrity, leadership, and management qualities; contribution to nation-building and values formation; effective stewardship within the confines of the highest standards of the highest standards of business and management practice, among others."

Since first being handed out in 1977, the award has been conferred 44 times.

Previous recipients of the award are Washington SyCip, Geronimo Velasco, Henry Brimo, Jose Soriano, Cesar Virata, Jaime Ongpin, Vicente Paterno, Dante Santos, Cesar Buenaventura, Roberto Villanueva, Jaime Zobel de Ayala, Ramon del Rosario Sr., Jose Fernandez Jr., Raul Concepcion, Oscar Hilado, Alfonso Yuchengco, Juan Santos, David Consunji, Rizalino Navarro, Gabriel Singson, Delfin Lazaro, Henry Sy Sr., Oscar Lopez, Tony Tan Caktiong, Jesus Tambunting, Rafael Buenaventura, Manuel V. Pangilinan (MVP), George S.K. Ty, Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala II, Jose Cuisia Jr., Antonio Aquino, Jesus Estanislao, Lilia de Lima, Ramon del Rosario Jr., Erramon Aboitiz, Aurelio Montinola III, Edgar Chua, Albert del Rosario, Amando Tetangco Jr., Tessie Sy-Coson, John Gokongwei Jr., and Fernando Zobel de Ayala.


Oscar and Gabby Lopez Resign from Lopez Holdings Corp.

Lopez Scion Fires Back at Newspaper Columnist for “Irresponsible Journalism”

In 2019, the MAP named BDO President and CEO Nestor Tan its Man of the Year.

watch now
More Videos You Can Watch
About The Author
Paul John Caña
Associate Editor, Esquire Philippines
View Other Articles From PJ
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us