Metro Manila to Remain Under GCQ for the Rest of June

There will be new quarantine measures in place starting today, June 16.
IMAGE Jerome Ascano

President Rodrigo Duterte held a special meeting on Monday, June 15, to discuss the current quarantine situation in the Philippines due to COVID-19. As of June 15, there are 26,420 confirmed cases in the Philippines. Therefore, the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) has approved the following recommendations beginning Tuesday, June 16, 2020.

The community quarantine classification of provinces, highly-urbanized cities, and independent-component cities is based on epidemic risk level, economic, social, and security situations, and other important factors.

Modified General Community Quarantine (MGQC) until June 30, 2020

  • Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR)
  • Region 1
  • Batanes 
  • Region 3 
  • Region 4B 
  • Region 5
  • Region 6
  • Region 8
  • Region 9, except Zamboanga City
  • Region 10
  • Region 11, except Davao City
  • Region 12
  • Region 13/CARAGA
  • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM)

General Community Quarantine (GCQ) until June 30, 2020

  • NCR (Metro Manila)
  • Region 2, except Batanes
  • Region 3
  • Region 4A
  • Region 7, except Cebu City and Talisay City
  • Zamboanga City
  • Davao City

Cebu City shall return to Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) due to the rising number of COVID-19 cases, and Talisay City shall be placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine  (MECQ), both until June 30, 2020.


This story originally appeared on world.reportr.

* Minor edits have been made by the editors.

Recommended Videos
About The Author
Andie Estella for
View Other Articles From Andie
Latest Feed
Load More Articles
Connect With Us